Coates Hire Supercars Challenge

A fan favourite, the Coates Hire Supercars Challenge, returns for 2017 with a new qualifying format which will see four sessions which set the order for all four of their races. Qualifying 1 sets the order for Race 1,  Qualifying 2 sets the order for Race 2 and so on.

Garth Tander returns to his roots heading to Garry Rogers Motorsport, after Holden Racing Team (HRT) ends its long-term sponsorship with Holden. Holden’s factory support status moves onto the dominant Champion team Red Bull Racing for 2017. Reigning 2016 Supercars Championship winner Shane van Gisbergen is also the reigning “Albert Park” event Champion and will again be battling with 7 times Supercars Champion and team mate Jamie Whincup.

Upcoming New Zealander Scott McLaughlin will bid farewell to Garry Rogers Motorsport as well as Volvo as he makes the switch to DJR Team Penske to drive the legendary No. 17 Ford. Driving his team boss Dick Johnsons historic competition number should help boost him on the next big step in his career.

Notable new entry is Simona de Silvestro (first full time female driver in the Supercars Championship) from Switzerland; ex Sauber Formula 1 test driver, last raced in the FIA Formula E Championship and competed at the 2016 Bathurst Supercars round in an all-girl duo with Renee Gracie.

The Supercars Pit paddock is a part of the general admission area with free access for all General Admission patrons and is definitely a place to visit at the event. An opportunity to get up close and personal with your favourite Supercars driver, check out the amazing colour of the team transporters, purchase your favourite team merchandise and get a behind-the-scenes view of the team garages.

Entry List

Car Number Driver Team Sponsor Name Model
2 Scott Pye Mobil 1 HSV Racing Holden Commodore VF
3 TBA LD Motorsport Holden Commodore VF
5 Mark Winterbottom The Bottle-O Racing Team Ford Falcon FGX
6 Cameron Waters Monster Energy Racing Ford Falcon FGX
7 Todd Kelly carsales Racing ALTIMA
8 Nick Percat Team Clipsal Holden Commodore VF
9 David Reynolds Erebus Penrite Racing  Holden Commodore VF
12 Fabian Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team Ford Falcon FGX
14 Tim Slade Freightliner Racing Holden Commodore VF
15 Rick Kelly Sengled Racing Nissan Altima
17 Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team Ford Falcon FGX
18 Lee Holdsworth Preston Hire Racing Holden Commodore VF
19 Will Davison TEKNO Woodstock Racing Holden Commodore VF
21 Tim Blanchard Team CoolDrive Holden Commodore VF
22 James Courtney Mobil 1 HSV Racing Holden Commodore VF
23 Michael Caruso Nissan Motorsport Nissan Altima
33 Garth Tander Wilson Security Racing GRM Holden Commodore VF
34 James Moffat Wilson Security Racing GRM Holden Commodore VF
55 Chaz Mostert Supercheap Auto Racing Ford Falcon FGX
56 Jason Bright MEGA Racing Ford Falcon FGX
62 Alex Rullo LD Motorsport Holden Commodore VF
78 Simona de Silvestro Team Harvey Norman Nissan Altima
88 Jamie Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Australia Holden Commodore VF
97 Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Australia Holden Commodore VF
99 Dale Wood Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing  Holden Commodore VF
888 Craig Lowndes TeamVortex  Holden Commodore VF
Sponsored By

Latest News

  • Vettel takes the lead in Bahrain

    A delighted Sebastian Vettel moved clear at the top of this year’s drivers’ world championship on Sunday when he claimed a well-judged victory...
    Read More
  • Hamilton determined to grab early-season momentum

    Five days after claiming his first win of the 2017 season, Lewis Hamilton goes into this weekend’s Bahrain Grand Prix determined to build momentum...
    Read More
  • Hamilton triumphs to set up battle royal with Vettel in title race

    Lewis Hamilton’s near flawless triumph in Sunday’s dramatic and stirring Chinese Grand Prix has set up a battle royal with Melbourne victory...
    Read More
  • Hamilton and Ricciardo seek change of fortune in China

    Lewis Hamilton and Daniel Ricciardo head into this weekend’s Chinese Grand Prix hoping to enjoy a slice more luck than they had at last month’s...
    Read More

Follow the Action