Skip to:

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Preview



31 MAR - 03 APR 2016

11 - 13 November 2011

Venue: Yas Marina
Circuit Length: 5.554 Km
Laps: 55
Lap Record: 1:40.279 = 199.387 km/h S. Vettel (Red Bull Renault) 2009

If your name’s not Hamilton or Vettel, you’ve done nothing at Yas Marina: they have shared poles and fastest laps and Seb has won twice on the island track.

The World Champion is still on course to beat Nigel Mansell’s all-time record of 14 poles in a season for Williams in 1992 – but Vettel needs to be first on the grid in Abu Dhabi and Brazil.

He can also match the highest number of wins by any driver in a season, the 13 achieved by Michael Schumacher in 2004 with Ferrari – but he must win Abu Dhabi and Brazil.

Six of the corners are taken at under 100 km/h – only Monaco, Singapore and Valencia have more.

But Jenson Button, for one, thinks DRS will make for real overtaking opportunities at a track where it’s been notoriously hard.

Among its special features Mark lists the Yas Hotel: as he says, “Where else can you drive under your room??”

2010  Results

Pole Position: 

Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Renault) 1:39.394 = 201.163 km/h

1st:       Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Renault)
2nd:     Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
3rd:      Jenson Button (McLaren)

Fastest Lap:

Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) 1:41.274 = 197.428 km/h

Webber Watch

His full record at Yas Marina:
2009 (Red Bull) Q 3 / R 2
2010 (Red Bull) Q 5 / R 8

Proudly Supported by