Skip to:

Australian Daniel Ricciardo will run with number three on his car throughout his Formula One career.



31 MAR - 03 APR 2016

Daniel Ricciardo Infiniti Red Bull Racing

New regulations for 2014 have stipulated that all drivers must use the same number, no matter which teams they drive for, during their time in F1.

Ricciardo will line up for his first race for Red Bull at the Australian Grand Prix in March with quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel as his imposing teammate.

Vettel, as reigning titleholder, will use number one this season and revert to five when he is deposed as champion.

Under the rules, drivers can pick numbers from two to 99.

While 13 is considered unlucky in some countries, in others it is not and that is the number Venezuelan Lotus racer Pastor Maldonado has gone for.

British McLaren star Jenson Button is hoping for more luck with the number 22, which was on his Brawn when he won the 2009 world championship.

"#Jenson22 Great memories, looking forward to making a few more," Button told his Twitter followers.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso requested 14, which he said has been his lucky number since 1996 when at the age of 14 he won a karting title with 14 on his car on July 14.

"Let's see if it's lucky for me again," Alonso said.

A popular lucky number - seven - has been snapped up by former titleholder Kimi Raikkonen, who this season returns for a second stint at Ferrari.

Meanwhile, Red Bull boss Christian Horner says Ricciardo could prove a surprise package even though he will be competing against the most dominant driver in F1 over the past four years alongside him in the garage.

"I think he could be a bit of a surprise because he is very quick, " Horner told Autosport. "He is going to have a lot to learn but I think he will surprise quite a few people with the pace he has.

"He has dragged massive qualifying performances out of the Torro Rosso (Ricciardo's previous team), which obviously is sub standard and he has continued to impress us with how he has raced, how he has delivered with the tools at his disposal."

Numbers of confirmed drivers (in 2013 constructors' championship order):

  • 1 (as champion) or 5 - Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull
  • 3 - Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull
  • 44 - Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes
  • 6 - Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes
  • 14 - Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari
  • 7 - Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari
  • 8 - Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus
  • 13 - Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus
  • 22 - Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren
  • 20 - Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren
  • 27 - Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India
  • 11 - Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India
  • 99 - Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber
  • 21 - Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber
  • 25 - Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso
  • 26 - Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso
  • 19 - Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams
  • 77 - Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams
  • 17 - Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia

Proudly Supported by