Skip to:

Belgian Grand Prix Preview



31 MAR - 03 APR 2016

26 - 28 August 2011

Venue: Spa-Francorchamps
Circuit Length: 7.004 Km
Laps: 44
Lap Record: 1:45.108 = 238.931 km/h K. Raikkonen (McLaren) 2004

‘Aaaaahhhh’: you can almost hear the collective sigh of relief as F1 is back, and back on a ‘proper’ circuit…

“It’s a place where you really feel on the limit,” says 2010 winner Lewis Hamilton, “and that’s pretty awesome in a Formula 1 car.”

Hamilton, Felipe Massa (2008) and Michael Schumacher (six times)are the only men in the current field to have conquered the fearsome Ardennes circuit.

And only two teams have won at Spa in the last decade: McLaren and Ferrari with five Belgian victories apiece.

Lewis’s McLaren teammate Jenson Button won the last race before the break, but last year he was taken out at Spa by Sebastian Vettel’s Red Bull.

Watch out for Sauber’s young Mexican Sergio Perez: he’s won here in F3 and GP2.

Our man Webber turns 35 on Saturday: another pole position to go with last year’s at Spa would be a nice present…

2010 Results

Pole Position:

Mark Webber (Red Bull Renault) 1:45.778 = 238.370 km/h

1st: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
2nd: Mark Webber (Red Bull Renault)
3rd: Robert Kubica (Renault)

Fastest Lap:
Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) 1:49.069 = 231.178 km/h

Webber Watch

2002 (Minardi) Q 19 / R dnf
2004 (Jaguar) Q 7 / R dnf
2005 (Williams) Q 10 / R 4
2007 (Red Bull) Q 8 / R 7
2008 (Red Bull) Q 7 / R 8
2009 (Red Bull) Q 9 / R 9
2010 (Red Bull) Q 1 / R 2

Proudly Supported by