Skip to:

European Grand Prix Preview (Round 8)



31 MAR - 03 APR 2016

Venue: Valencia
Circuit Length: 5.419 Km
Laps: 57
Lap Record: 1:38.683 = 197.687 km/h T. Glock (Toyota) 2009

This is the fourth F1 year for Valencia, a track starting to mature and earn its place on the calendar after a less-than-thrilling start in 2008.

Last year’s big moment? Of course, Mark Webber getting airborne at 306 km/h when Kovalainen’s Lotus braked early for Turn 12… one of only two DNF’s for the Aussie in the whole season.

While Webber flew, literally, Vettel flew metaphorically: his win in 2010 was the second in three years from pole position; Massa’s Ferrari did it first time out in `08. The only other Valencia winner to date is Barrichello for Brawn in `09.

Last year no fewer than nine drivers were given time penalties for allegedly going too fast in a Safety Car period; Glock was also docked 20 seconds for ignoring blue flags.

2010 Results

Pole Position:
Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Renault) 1:37.587 = 199.907 km/h

1st: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Renault)
2nd: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
3rd: Jenson Button (McLaren)

Fastest Lap:
Jenson Button (McLaren)
1:38.766 = 197.521 km/h


His full record at Valencia:

2008 (Red Bull) Q 14 / R 12
2009 (Red Bull) Q 9 / R 9
2010 (Red Bull) Q2 / R dnf

Proudly Supported by