Skip to:

Korean Grand Prix Preview



31 MAR - 03 APR 2016

14 - 16 October 2011

Venue: Yeongam
Circuit Length: 5.615 Km
Laps: 55
Lap Record: 1:50.257 = 183.335 km/h F. Alonso (Ferrari) 2010

One year ago South Korea became the 29th country and 68th track to grace the World Championship stage.

It wasn’t supposed to be a night race – but dreadful weather, red flags and safety cars meant the podium ceremony took place in almost total darkness.

It was the race that effectively ended Mark Webber’s title tilt as the Aussie crashed out at Turn 12 and collected Nico Rosberg’s Mercedes. “Totally my fault,” said Webber after only his second non-finish of 2010.

For Red Bull it was a rare double disaster as leader Sebastian Vettel pulled off with a dead Renault engine after 45 laps.

After clinching the title in Japan, Seb heads back to Yeongam as a double World Champion – the youngest in the sport’s 62-year history. Will he back off? What do you think?

In 2011 the circuit – anti-clockwise, with 18 turns – should have a more finished look…

2010 Results

Pole Position:

Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Renault) 1:35.585 = 211.476  km/h

1st: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
2nd: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
3rd: Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

Fastest Lap:
Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) 1:50.257 = 183.335 km/h

Webber Watch
2010 (Red Bull) Q2 / R dnf

Proudly Supported by