Skip to:

Round 4 Preview - 2011 Turkey Grand Prix

6 - 8 May 2011

Venue: Istanbul
Circuit Length: 5.338 Km
Laps: 58
Lap Record: 1:24.770 = 226.693 km/h J. Montoya (McLaren) 2005

This is the seventh running of the Turkish race, inaugurated in 2005, on an anti-clockwise lay-out by Hermann Tilke

Only three drivers have won here: Felipe Massa famously said ‘I own this track!’ after winning for the third time in a row in 2008

The other winners are Kimi Raikkonen, Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton

Famous for Turn 8, the four-apex left-hander, and maybe infamous for Turn 10 where the sequence of events began that ended with the Red Bull duo of Webber and Vettel coming together last year

As they head to the frontier between Asia and Europe, Vettel leads the Drivers’ Championship on 68 from Hamilton (47), Button (38) and Webber, on 37 after that stellar drive in China

Will anyone decide intentionally to adopt ‘the Webber strategy’ – i.e. miss out on qualifying and save tyres for the race itself??


2010 Race

2010 Results

Pole Position: 

Mark Webber (Red Bull Renault) 1:26.295 = 222.687 km/h

1st:       Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
2nd:     Jenson Button (McLaren)
3rd:      Mark Webber (Red Bull Renault)

Fastest Lap:

Vitaly Petrov (Renault) 1:29.165 = 215.519 km/h


Webber Watch

His full record at Istanbul:
2005 (Williams) Q 7 / dnf
2006 (Williams) Q 10 / P 10
2007 (Red Bull) Q 12 / dnf
2008 (Red Bull) Q 6 / P 7
2009 (Red Bull) Q 4 / P 2
2010 (Red Bull) Q 1 / P 3

Proudly Supported by