Skip to:

Singapore Grand Prix Preview



31 MAR - 03 APR 2016

23 - 25 September 2011

Venue: Marina Bay
Circuit Length: 5.073 Km
Laps: 61
Lap Record: 1:47.976 = 169.137 km/h Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) 2010

F1 visits the Lion City for the fourth time, with Fernando Alonso the only man to have won twice there.

Red Bull has never won – nor has a Red Bull car been on pole position so they have work to do to maintain their 100% 2011 record.

McLaren’s Martin Whitmarsh says the addition of DRS will make for ‘electrifying racing’, with the DRS zone to be between Turns 5 and 7.

It’s the season’s toughest race for brakes and gearboxes with its 23 turns – 10 of them in the last 1500m of its 5.073km.

‘Almost two tracks in one,” says the other SGP winner, Lewis Hamilton: it combines fast, committed corners with 90-degree technical sections.

‘I hope to nail it this year,’ says Mark Webber, third last year but never totally at ease round Marina Bay.

And Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi sums it up beautifully: ‘Singapore is always very close to wall…’

2010 Results

Pole Position:

Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) 1:45.390 = 173.287 km/h

1st: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
2nd: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Renault)
3rd: Mark Webber (Red Bull Renault)

Fastest Lap:
Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) 1:47.976 = 169.137 km/h

Webber Watch

2008 (Red Bull) Q 13 / R dnf
2009 (Red Bull) Q 4 / R dnf
2010 (Red Bull) Q 5 / R 3

Proudly Supported by