Skip to:

Can Williams Catch The Bus In 2013?

Dateline Barcelona, February 19: the Williams FW35 is unveiled in low-key fashion ahead of the first day of the second 2013 Formula One test session, to be staged at the Circuit de Catalunya. This is where, in 2012, Pastor Maldonado piloted the car’s predecessor to victory in the Spanish Grand Prix – the first Williams success since the end of 2004.

Is FW35 the car to build on that success and return Sir Frank’s team to the top?

Question: what was the designation of the first ‘true’ Williams, which appeared at the end of 1977?

Stoner, Coulthard and Doohan line up for Ultimate Speed Comparison

*Image from 2012 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix

Three international superstars of the track will line up against each other at the 2013 Formula 1® Rolex Australian Grand Prix when Casey Stoner, Mick Doohan and David Coulthard take to the starting grid for a star-studded Ultimate Speed Comparison.

In just over one month’s time MotoGP hero Casey Stoner will take to the wheel of a Red Bull V8 Supercar, Mick Doohan a Mercedes-Benz SL 63 AMG road car and David Coulthard a Red Bull Racing F1 car on the spectacular Albert Park circuit.

Mark Webber: More Milestones Ahead?

This season brings 36-year-old Webber to another major landmark: round four in Bahrain will be the 200th Grand Prix of a career he began with a bang, scoring points on debut with Minardi in Melbourne in 2002.

Not only that, but Mark needs to be in the top 10 only three more times to make it to 100 points-scoring results in Formula 1®.

To put those figures in context, before he was knighted Jack Brabham raced 126 times and was in the points 53 times; Alan Jones raced 116 times to finish in the points on 39 occasions. The percentages are with Mark.

Australian Grand Prix Supports Young Motorsport Talent

The Australian Grand Prix Corporation has named the Australian Motor Sport Foundation (AMSF) as the Official Charity of the 2013 Formula 1® Rolex Australian Grand Prix.

The AMSF aims to nurture Australia's young motorsport talent by providing financial and personal support to ensure they are able to reach their full potential in international competition.

Previous AMSF beneficiaries include some of the most recognised names in Australian motorsport such as Daniel Ricciardo, Will Power, Will Davison and James Courtney.

F1 Takes Over The City

For the month of February Formula 1® will take over Melbourne’s CBD, with our promotional team giving city workers the chance to win a Swisse F1® Two-Seater ride. They will be located at Melbourne Central, Bourke Street Mall, Collins Place and Goldsborough Lane on different days. Catch the team for your chance to win tickets to the 2013 Formula 1® Rolex Australian Grand Prix and an unforgettable experience.

Jerez Testing Heralds Season’s Start

All eyes were on southern Spain last week as the Circuito de Jerez played host to the first of three weeks of testing ahead of the 2013 Formula 1® season.

The four days of action are always keenly anticipated as they present the first opportunities of the new racing year to witness the full range of updated vehicles in action. The week in Jerez also provides an early chance for fans to familiarise themselves with drivers new to F1® , or simply new to their teams after switching in the off-season.

Victoria shines as the ‘race’ and the ‘road’ come together

Formula 1 ® entered uncharted territory this week when the Swisse F1 Two-Seater took to the Great Ocean Road and put on a spectacular display along the iconic stretch of Victorian coastline.

It marks the first time in history that a Formula 1 ® car has travelled along Victoria’s major tourist route, with the breathtaking drive commencing at the 12 Apostles and weaving its way towards Lorne.

Nitro Circus Live Riders Announced

Nitro Circus Live, one of the greatest live action sports show in the world, will take the stage at the 2013 Formula 1® Rolex Australian Grand Prix, free for all ticket holders.

The world’s best action sports athletes will push themselves to the limit, performing free, daily shows that will culminate in a one-hour post-race spectacular. The shows will feature Nitro’s famous 50-foot giganta ramp, extreme stunts in Freestlye Motocross, BMX, Skateboard, Scooters and more.


Proudly Supported by