AGPC welcomes two new Board Members

The Victorian Government has confirmed the appointment of Mark Webber AO to the Board of the Australian Grand Prix Corporation for the next three years.

The Victorian Government has confirmed the appointments of Mark Webber AO and Kimberley Brown to the Board of the Australian Grand Prix Corporation for the next three years.

The two appointments are effective immediately and follow Alan Oxley’s retirement from the Board after 15 years of outstanding service.

Minister for Tourism and Major Events, The Hon. John Eren MP, welcomed the new additions.

“The Australian Grand Prix Corporation plays a huge role in driving our visitor economy and bringing visitors to our state,” said Minister Eren.

“Mark Webber and Kimberley Brown, both leaders in their respective fields, will undoubtedly add another dimension to the Board and ensure our events continue to go from strength to strength.”

Australian Grand Prix Corporation Chairman, John Harnden AM, similarly applauded the appointments, as well as expressing his gratitude to Oxley for his 15 years of service.

“Alan has made a remarkable contribution, playing an integral role in the success we have achieved,” Harnden said.

“We are sincerely grateful to Alan for his dedication and unwavering support.

“Both Mark Webber AO and Kimberley Brown are outstanding individuals and will bring fresh perspectives to the Board.”

Webber, who was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2017 for “distinguished service to motorsport as a competitor and ambassador, and to the community through fundraising and patronage of a range of medical and youth support organisations”, offers an incredible understanding of motorsport to the Board.

Webber competed in 215 races across 12 seasons in the FIA Formula One World Championship with four World Constructors’ Championships, nine race wins, 42 podiums and 13 pole positions attributed to his name.

Kimberley Brown joins the Board with a wealth of sports, tourism and events sector experience, being the General Manager of Saltwater Hotels and Properties, as well as a Board Member of the State Sports Centre Trust, where she is also a member of its Audit committee.

Brown was also a Bass Coast Shire Councillor from 2012-2016, which included a tenure as Mayor in 2015.

Webber and Brown join a strong, diverse Board, all of whom work in an honorary capacity across the Formula 1® Australian Grand Prix and the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix:

  • John Harnden AM (Chairman);
  • Gillian Franklin (Deputy Chair);
  • Laura Anderson;
  • Kimberley Brown;
  • Mick Doohan AM;
  • Mark Green;
  • Kate Lundy;
  • Trent Smyth; and
  • Mark Webber AO.

Follow the Action