McLaughlin’s winning streak continues

Supercars Race 2 Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin made history by winning the 1000th Australian Touring Car Championship/Australia Supercars Championship race in Melbourne on Saturday.

Reigning champion McLaughlin entered Race 2 of the Formula 1® Rolex Australian Grand Prix 2019 meeting in great form, having won all three races this year.

And he maintained his winning streak by finishing 2.522 seconds ahead of Supercheap Auto Racing’s Chaz Mostert.

Monster Energy Racing’s Cameron Waters rounded out the podium places, finishing 6.410 seconds adrift of the winner.

McLaughlin started from pole and Mostert was next to him on the front row but the latter – who has the fastest lap in Melbourne this weekend to his name – was sluggish off the mark.

He dropped to fourth, with Waters and Red Bull Holden Racing’s Jamie Whincup – the driver with the most Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars victories – taking advantage.

The going was tough further back in the field, with a range of cars making minor contact without major incident.

Mostert’s race pace was on display when he moved ahead of Whincup and into third on Lap 5 and it was not long before he engaged in an exciting duel with Waters for second.

And while it took some time, Mostert made the most of Waters briefly running onto the grass to nudge ahead on Lap 9.

McLaughlin avoided all of that, though, enjoying a relatively cruisy run to victory, and Mostert looks like the only driver who can really challenge him in Melbourne.

Whincup finished fourth, the only Holden driver in the top six, with Ford pair Fabian Coulthard and Will Davison next best.

The Supercars action continues on Saturday, with Race 3 – a 25-lap contest over 130km – beginning at 6.30pm.

Follow the Action