This website uses cookies for analytics and personalised content. View our Privacy Policy for more information on cookies.
Skip to main content

What time does the 2020 Austrian Grand Prix start in Australia?


The 2020 F1® season starts in Austria this weekend.

If you'd like to view the race times for the Formula 1® Styrian Grand Prix 2020, 10-12 July, click here.

The F1® season begins with the Formula 1® Austrian Grand Prix 2020 at the Red Bull Ring this weekend.

Here is everything you need to know, including the start time and race info, for the 2020 Austrian GP.

When is the Austrian Grand Prix?

The first race of the 2020 F1® season takes place on Sunday 5 July.

Practice begins on Friday 3 July with FP1 and FP2, followed by FP3 and qualifying on Saturday 4 July.

What time does the Austrian Grand Prix start?

The 2020 Austrian GP starts at 3:10pm local time on Sunday 5 July, which is 11:10pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on Sunday 5 July.

The AEST for each session in Austria are as follows:

  • Practice 1: Friday 7:00pm-8:30pm AEST
  • Practice 2: Friday 11:00pm-12:30am AEST
  • Practice 3: Saturday 8:00pm-9:00pm AEST
  • Qualifying: Saturday 11:00pm-12:00am AEST
  • Race: Sunday 11:10pm-1:10am AEST

Where is the Austrian Grand Prix held and how many laps is it?

The race takes place at Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, Styria, Austria.

Drivers will race 71 laps covering a total distance of 306.452 kilometres.

What TV channel is the Austrian Grand Prix on in Australia?

All live F1® television coverage in Australia is on Fox Sports, which is available via Foxtel.

Live streaming is also available for compatible devices, in HD and on demand, through Kayo Sports.

For free-to-air viewers, 10 Bold will show highlights of the race at 10:30pm on Monday 6 July.

Preview Video

Formula 2 and Formula 3

Alongside Daniel Ricciardo this weekend, a number of up-and-coming Australian and New Zealand talent will race across the Formula 2 and Formula 3 categories in Austria.

Marcus Armstrong (NZ) will be the sole representative in F2, while Oscar Piastri (AUS), Liam Lawson (NZ), Calan Williams (AUS), Jack Doohan (AUS) and Alex Peroni (AUS) will all suit up to race in F3.

Fans can watch live race coverage on Fox Sports 506 or through Kayo Sports.

  • F3 Race 1: Saturday 6:20pm-7:15pm AEST
  • F2 Race 1: Sunday 12:40am-2:00am AEST
  • F3 Race 2: Sunday 5:40pm-6:40pm AEST
  • F2 Race 2: Sunday 7:05pm-8:23pm AEST