This website uses cookies for analytics and personalised content. View our Privacy Policy for more information on cookies.
Skip to main content

What time does the 2020 Spanish Grand Prix start in Australia?


The 2020 F1® season continues at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya this weekend.

The F1® season continues with the Formula 1® Spanish Grand Prix 2020 this weekend.

Here is everything you need to know, including the start time and race info, for the Spanish GP 2020.

When is the Spanish Grand Prix?

The sixth race of the 2020 F1® season takes place on Sunday 16 August.

Practice begins on Friday 14 August with FP1 and FP2, followed FP3 and qualifying on Saturday 15 August.

What time does the Spanish Grand Prix start?

The 2020 Spanish GP starts at 3:10pm local time on Sunday 16 August, which is 11:10pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on Sunday 9 August.

The AEST for each session in Spain are as follows:

  • Practice 1: Friday 7:00pm-8:30pm AEST
  • Practice 2: Friday 11:00pm-12:30am AEST
  • Practice 3: Saturday 8:00pm-9:00pm AEST
  • Qualifying: Saturday 11:00pm-12:00am AEST
  • Race: Sunday 11:10pm-1:10am AEST

Where is the Spanish Grand Prix held and how many laps is it?

The race takes place at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in Montmelo, Catalonia, Spain

Drivers will race 66 laps covering a total distance of 307.104 kilometres.

What TV channel is the Spanish Grand Prix on in Australia?

All live F1® television coverage in Australia is on Fox Sports, which is available via Foxtel.

Live streaming is also available for compatible devices, in HD and on demand, through Kayo Sports.

For free-to-air viewers, 10 Bold will show highlights of the race at 10:30pm on Monday 20 July.

To view the full viewing guide on how to watch Formula 1® events in Australia, click here.