This website uses cookies for analytics and personalised content. View our Privacy Policy for more information on cookies.
Skip to main content

What time does the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix start in Australia?


Which F1® driver will reign in Spain?

The F1® season continues with the Formula 1® 2021 Spanish Grand Prix this weekend.

Here is everything you need to know, including the start time and race info, for the Spanish GP 2021.

When is the Spanish Grand Prix?

The fourth race of the 2021 F1® season takes place on Sunday 9 May at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Practice begins on Friday 7 May with FP1 and FP2, followed by FP3 and qualifying on Saturday 8 May.

What time does the Spanish Grand Prix start?

The 2021 Spanish GP starts at 3:00pm local time on Sunday 9 May, which is 11:00pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on Sunday 9 May.

The AEST for each session in Spain is as follows:

  • Practice 1: Friday 7:30pm-8:30pm AEST
  • Practice 2: Friday 11:00pm-12:00am AEST
  • Practice 3: Saturday 8:00pm-9:00pm AEST
  • Qualifying: Saturday 11:00pm-12:00am AEST
  • Race: Sunday 11:00pm AEST

Where is the Spanish Grand Prix held and how many laps is it?

The race takes place at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, effectively known as Catalunya, in Spain.

Drivers will race 66 laps covering a total distance of 308.424 kilometres.

What TV channel is the Spanish Grand Prix on in Australia?

All live F1® television coverage in Australia is on Fox Sports, which is available via Foxtel.

Live HD streaming is also available for compatible devices through Kayo Sports.

For free-to-air viewers, 10 Bold will show highlights of the race at 10:30pm AEST on Monday 3 May 2021. Check local guides for more details.

Read our complete guide on how to watch Formula 1® in Australia.