This website uses cookies for analytics and personalised content. View our Privacy Policy for more information on cookies.
Skip to main content

What time does the 2022 Bahrain Grand Prix start in Australia?


Which driver will take home the first points of the season.

The Formula 1® kicks off for the new season with the 2022 Bahrain Grand Prix this weekend.

Here is everything you need to know, including the start time and race info.

When is the Bahrain Grand Prix?

Round 1 of the 2022 F1® season takes place on Sunday 20th March at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Practice begins on Friday 18th March with Practice 1 and Practice 2, followed by Practice 3 and the Qualifying on Saturday 19th March.

What time does the Bahrain Grand Prix start?

The 2022 Bahrain Grand Prix starts at 6:00 pm local time on Sunday 20th March, which is 2:00 am (AEDT) on Monday 21st March.

The AEDT for each session in Abu Dhabi is as follows:

Formula 1®

  • Practice 1: Friday 11:00 pm - 12:00 am
  • Practice 2: Saturday 2:00 am - 3:00 am

  • Practice 3: Saturday 11:00 pm - 12:00 am
  • Qualifying: Sunday 2:00 am - 3:00 am

  • Race: Monday 2:00 am

Formula 2®

  • Practice: Friday 8:35 pm - 9:20 pm
  • Qualifying: Saturday 3:25 am - 3:55 am
  • Sprint Race: Sunday 3:40 am - 4:25 am
  • Feature Race: Sunday 9:40 pm - 10:40 pm

Formula 3®

  • Practice: Friday 7:25 pm - 8:10 pm
  • Qualifying: Saturday 12:25 am - 12:55 am
  • Sprint Race: Saturday 8:45 pm - 9:25 pm
  • Feature Race: Sunday 7:45 pm - 8:30 pm

Where is the Bahrain Grand Prix held and how many laps is it?

The race takes place at Bahrain International Circuit, located in Bahrain.

Drivers will race 57 laps covering a total distance of 308.238 kilometres.

What TV channel is the Bahrain Grand Prix on in Australia?

All live F1® television coverage in Australia is on Fox Sports, which is available via Foxtel.

Live HD streaming is also available for compatible devices through Kayo Sports.

For free-to-air viewers, 10 Bold and 10 Play will show highlights of the race at 11:30 pm AEDT on Monday 21st March 2022. Check local guides for more details.

Read our complete guide on how to watch Formula 1® in Australia.